Five-Sentence Fiction: Elysium

by Eena

Here is a new addition to my weekly practice at writing flash fiction. This week’s prompt is BEAUTY, courtesy of Lillie McFerrin, but I couldn’t help taking inspiration from the film I saw just tonight, Neill Blomkamp’s Elysium.

*****

Image source: Sony Pictures / Tri Star Pictures

A wind blows over her clear blue waters and lush swell of lands, rustling leaves and blades of grass below with the stroke of God’s fingers.

On my viewfinder I watch as sunlight glistens off her flawless edifices. For a moment I hesitate; my hand quivers.

From my ship fifty miles away the space habitat appears beautiful, unbearably so, but she is just as fake as her privileged citizens who leave us to toil back on desolate Earth.

I have only to pull the trigger to liberate my people.

*****

Lillie McFerrin Writes

Check out other works here or learn more about Five-Sentence Fiction (FSF) here.

