Friday Fictioneers: Meditation

by Eena

image

Photo prompt – Sean Fallon

“Just how am I supposed to feel?” Bruce squirms in his lotus position. “This headache is driving me out of my mind.”

“Sit still. Remember what the little bald boy told Neo? ‘Do not try to bend the spoon. Instead realize the truth… there is no spoon.'”

“Yeah. This would be so much easier if I was as emotionless as Keanu Reeves.”

“Enough,” says Sam. “Less moping, more meditating.”

After a few minutes, Sam feels a bright light sear through his closed eyelids, hears a loud crack split the air. When his eyes adjust, he finds an empty husk in the shape of Bruce.

“Huh. I guess this is the Matrix after all.”

*****

About this challenge:
Every week, writers around the worldΒ each submit a 100-word story in response to an assigned photo.Β Read them atΒ Friday Fictioneers!

