Friday Fictioneers: Undercurrent

by Eena

image

Photo copyright – Ted Strutz

The path downriver is calm. Behind our ferry the water’s surface stubbornly holds on to the sun’s final rays.

Ahead waits a night covering a land I’ve never walked, a home with a husband I’ve never met. A world that mother has known and a path every woman before her has taken.

Beside us brilliant fish swim in the opposite direction, heedless of the current.

I don’t stop to think. I slide my dress off and dive into the water, making for the sunset.

For the first time in my life, I know what it means to go against the flow. And I never turn back.

*****

About this challenge:
Every week, writers around the world each submit a 100-word story in response to a photo assigned by our host, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Visit their pages atΒ Friday Fictioneers! πŸ™‚

