Friday Fictioneers: Hearts and Strings

by Eena

image

She opens the door. “You’re here.”

“You seem surprised.”

“Is it done, then? Are you completely over her? If you’ve come to climb back into my bed I need to know that, this time, you’re mine completely. No strings attached. I don’t care if she’s ripped your heart out and stomped on it twice; don’t expect me to fix you.”

“It wasn’t Mary who did the stomping. You have nothing to fear; I’ve washed away the past. I’m yours.”

“Very well. Follow me.” She turns to lead the way, then “–wait, where are your shoes?”

“I’ve left them behind. The blood and fibers of Mary’s heart wouldn’t wash away completely.”

*****

About this challenge:

Every week, writers around the world each submit a 100-word story in response to a photo assigned by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Trace the Friday Fictioneers’ steps on the paths they’ve trodden here. You’ll get a kick out of it.

